Twilight Event - January 12

Start time: 5pm for meal - 6pm for tennis
Entries close Friday January 10.

Contact: Noel Boyd, 04 5263 2603, or

or enter online by clicking the Enter button below

Placeholder Picture

Wangaratta, 13-10-2019

Wangaratta lawn tennis club hosted the second round of the Nth East Seniors Tennis on Sunday in near perfect conditions. Over fifty players and supporters attended the event co-ordinated by WLTC seniors rep`Noel Boyd and his team. Players came from Rosebud in the south and from Holbrook in the North. As with the previous round held in Yarrawonga there were nearly equal numbers of men and women players.

This round was the first of the new format to commence at 9.30am and so meant that all play, lunch and presentations were finished by 1.45pm. The early start meant that the morning dew had to bagged off the courts and they were slightly damp in the shade but members noted this can also happen in January. The players general feeling of the new format was that as the season gets into the warmer weather the early starts and earlier finishes will be better appreciated.

Womens section 1 Court Winner Judy Buzza on 24 games (Shepparton).
Runner up Wendy Hall on 19 games (Wangaratta)
Section 2 Chris Mollison Court Winner on 24 games (Wodonga)
Runner up Marg Close on 19 games (Rosebud)
Section 3 Court Winner Claire Fisk on 24 games (Wangaratta)
Runners up Dee Gordon (Shepparton) and Ruth Mcpherson (Yarrawonga) both on 17 games.
Section 4 Court Winner Irene McGauran on 23 games (Wangaratta)
Runner up Sue Piper on 18 games (Wangaratta)
Section 5 Court Winner Chris Denbey on 22 games (Yarrawonga)
Runner up Jan Knights on 21 games (Tatura)
Mens Section 1 Court Winner Phil Peck on 24 games (Wangaratta)
Runner up Mark Brown on 18 games (Wangaratta)
Section 2 Court Winner Brian Scobie on 24 games (Wangaratta)
Runner up Lance Crockett on 21 games. (Wangaratta)
Section 3 saw joint winners and joint runners up.
Col Parker (Wodonga) and Alan Busk (Wangaratta) on 21 games with John Mollison (Wodonga) and Des Steele (Wangaratta) on 20 games.
Section 4 Court Winner Jim Lannan on 24 games (Wodonga)
Runner up Henry Parker on 17 games (Holbrook)
Section 5 Court Winner Peter Curran on 24 games (Wangaratta)
Runner up Russell O`Brien on 18 games (Wangaratta)
Section 6 Court Winner Mick Keogh on 24 games (Wangaratta)
Runner up Roger Frankenberg on 20 games (Albury)

Placeholder Picture
Placeholder Picture
Placeholder Picture
Placeholder Picture

Pictured in the 4 photos above from the Wangaratta Vets day are:
1. L-R Super veterans with a combined age of over 360 years. Roger Frankenberg (Albury) Mick Keogh (Wangaratta) Des Carlin (Wodonga) and Drew Porter (Wagga Wagga)
2.Des Steele about to serve.
3.Alan Busk on the net.
4. Wodonga`s Don McLennan and Col Parker battling in the last set of the day against Wangaratta`s Alan Busk and Des Steele.

Placeholder Picture
Placeholder Picture
Placeholder Picture
Placeholder Picture
Placeholder Picture
Placeholder Picture

Veterans Tournament Report - April, 2019

Placeholder Picture

Event Sponsored by Gapsted Wines
Final event for 2018-19 Wangaratta Lawn Tennis Calender.
The second last round of the Nth East Veterans tournaments was held on Sunday in perfect warm autumn conditions at Wangaratta`s Lawn tennis courts.
Organisers Noel Boyd and Mick Keogh reported that over fifty players and support staff were involved. They were pleased to have players travel from Rosebud, Euroa, Wodonga, Shepparton and from more local areas around Wangaratta. The bulk of entries in fact was from local players and this was reflected in the results. There were significantly more mens entries this time with only fourteen women playing. However everyone enjoyed their round robin play and tennis was certainly the winner.
The final Nth East Veterans round will be held at Shepparton`s Lawn courts on the Sunday after Easter.

Placeholder Picture

Important Message